scale image for personality tests

Narcissism Scale

According to personality psychologists, there are four main groups into which dark personality traits fall. Narcissism is one of them.

Mark Travers, Ph.D.

By Mark Travers, Ph.D. | February 05, 2024

Narcissism, characterized by an inflated self-image and sense of entitlement, is one of the four personality traits within the Dark Tetrad framework.

Narcissism involves a hunger for appreciation. Narcissistic individuals come off as charming and desire to be the center of attention, and they exhibit a considerable lack of concern for others' feelings.

Research led by the influential personality psychologist Delroy Paulhus provides a convenient way to measure dark tetrad tendencies in the form of the Short Dark Tetrad (SD4) scale. The "special identity" dimension of the SD4 scale helps measure narcissism in both clinical and sub-clinical populations.

You can take this test here. Please follow all of the steps to receive your results.

Step 1: Rate the following statements based on how much you agree with them on a scale of strongly disagree to strongly agree.

Step 2: Enter your age, gender, region, and first name so we can provide you with a detailed report that compares your test scores to people similar to you.

Step 3: Check to make sure you've provided answers to all of the statements/questions above. Once you've done that, click the button below to send your responses to Awake Therapy's Lead Psychologist, Mark Travers, Ph.D. He will provide you with an overview of how you scored relative to others (all answers are anonymized and confidential to protect users' privacy). He can also answer any follow-up questions you may have.

References: Paulhus, D. L., Buckels, E. E., Trapnell, P. D., & Jones, D. N. (2021). Screening for dark personalities: The Short Dark Tetrad (SD4). European Journal of Psychological Assessment, 37(3), 208–222.

© Psychology Solutions 2024. All Rights Reserved.