scale image for personality tests

Love Langauge Scale

Do your partner's gestures of affection feel like they're falling short? Empower yourself and your relationship by learning your love language.

Mark Travers, Ph.D.

By Mark Travers, Ph.D. | January 08, 2024

Love languages, a concept popularized by Dr. Gary Chapman, provide a unique lens through which we understand and express affection in relationships. The idea posits that individuals have distinct ways of giving and receiving love, akin to languages that vary from person to person. These love languages encompass:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Quality Time
  4. Physical Touch
  5. Receiving Gifts

Understanding the significance of identifying one's love language is paramount in fostering healthier and more fulfilling relationships. Without this awareness, partners may struggle to effectively communicate their love, leading to misunderstandings and unmet emotional needs. Recognizing one's love language enables individuals to articulate their desires and provides a roadmap for their partners to express affection in ways that resonate most profoundly.

The Love Language Scale serves as a valuable tool in this journey of self-discovery. Comprising 20 statements that individuals rate based on personal preferences, the scale helps uncover how one prefers to give and receive love. This introspective process enhances emotional intelligence, equipping individuals with insights into their own needs and communication styles.

As a practical and accessible psychological tool, the Love Language Scale empowers individuals to navigate the complexities of relationships with a deeper understanding of themselves and their partners, allowing for relationships filled with fulfilling tokens of affection.

You can take this test here. Please follow all of the steps to receive your results.

Step 1: Rate the statements below, from strongly agree to strongly disagree, based on how well they answer the following question. I feel most loved by my partner when they:

Step 2: Enter your age, gender, region, and first name so we can provide you with a detailed report that compares your test scores to people similar to you.

Step 3: Check to make sure you've provided answers to all of the statements/questions above. Once you've done that, click the button below to send your responses to Awake Therapy's Lead Psychologist, Mark Travers, Ph.D. He will provide you with an overview of how you scored relative to others (all answers are anonymized and confidential to protect users' privacy). He can also answer any follow-up questions you may have.

References: Egbert, N. & Polk, D. (2006). Speaking the language of relational maintenance: A validity test of Chapman’s (1992) five love languages. Communication Research Reports, 23(1). 19-26.

© Psychology Solutions 2024. All Rights Reserved.